Author Topic: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?  (Read 5817 times)

alssysenar

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« on: December 30, 2017, 04:33:22 AM »
Assuming visual use only and a picky observer when it comes to vibrations, do you think the Atlas AZ/EQ-6 could be sufficient for an APM 6" f8 doublet refractor?

I'm planning a concrete pier for the head.



snowcadere

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2018, 04:23:38 PM »
I'm using the Atlas AZ with my APM 140 (same size tube as the 152, but about 8" shorter) and it works very well. I don't notice much shake at all when using the tripod with the legs not extended, but I do get a good amount of shaking with the legs extended over a foot, so I'd think on a pier you should be rock solid.
The mount certainly handles the weight with ease, I can have a heavy 2" or a 1.25" ortho in the focuser and don't notice any difference in the sound of the mount when slewing (which is freakishly quiet BTW).

I think you would be happy with it...

Bob

Jose Lukeson

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2018, 09:11:01 AM »
For visual you will be fine. I have a 6" f/8 SkyWatcher refractor that use on my Atlas and it handles it just fine. A little vibration due to the long tube when it's touched but it settles down pretty quick.Attached Thumbnails


frenafverbi

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2018, 12:18:42 AM »
I have about 30 pounds on my AZ/EQ6 and it works fine whether I use my 8" SCT or my 5" refractor. I have the TPI spreader and I think it's worth the money. I do not raise the mount any higher than I have to in the interest of maximum stability. The spreader and the battery holder gave me a nice place to put my power supply and a couple of eyepieces as well.

adviconno

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2018, 04:31:41 AM »
For such a long tube, the weakest point of the mount is the tripod. You either need a beefier tripod or a TPI spreader which works like a charm!

wallnewsspheryz

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2018, 10:06:07 AM »
Thanks all!

Trendsetters Branch

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2018, 06:14:51 AM »
Quote
Assuming visual use only and a picky observer when it comes to vibrations, do you think the Atlas AZ/EQ-6 could be sufficient for an APM 6" f8 doublet refractor?

I'm planning a concrete pier for the head.


My CGEM, which is quite similar to the AZ-EQ-6 in payload capacity is just fine with my (heavy) 6-inch f/8 achro.

stimtinpaso

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2018, 01:44:37 PM »
The best way for "picky" observers to handle possible vibrations, is to get a motorized focuser. Other than high winds, almost all vibrations happen when focusing. More than worth the money, and far superior to vibration pads as such.

Something else that might help is a replacement saddle (not sure if the native saddle on the Atlas has more than two pressure points) that clamps all the way, and long dovetail bar.

elunmolunch

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2018, 12:37:12 AM »
Quote
The best way for "picky" observers to handle possible vibrations, is to get a motorized focuser. Other than high winds, almost all vibrations happen when focusing. More than worth the money, and far superior to vibration pads as such.

Something else that might help is a replacement saddle (not sure if the native saddle on the Atlas has more than two pressure points) that clamps all the way, and long dovetail bar.

Agree and agree!

Mike

witchcycsuti

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2018, 10:44:45 AM »
Thanks guys.

pafunsirep

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2018, 05:06:44 AM »
The mount handles it well but for me it's at it's limit & is shaky when focusing.
If it's windy I don't even bother.
I have the pier extension and even with that I extend the legs on mine at least a foot.
I use it in alt/az mode. In eq mode it may ride higher...enabling you to retract the legs a little. Electric focuser is a good idea but it won't help in windy conditions.
The concrete pier should make it more stable tho.


engoecircming

  • Active Astronomer
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AZ/EQ-6 enough for 6" f8 doublet refractor?
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2018, 07:17:59 AM »
If you look up TPI Spreader on the internet you'll find that there's an aftermarket spreader and battery holder that will help stabilize the tripod.